The Ocean's Zones

The ocean can be divided from its surface to its depth into 5 zones based on the amount of lights it receives. The 5 zones are: the Sunlight Zone, the Twilight Zone, the Midnight Zone, the Abyss, and the Trenches. In this website we are going to learn about the first three zones.

The Sunlit Zone

1) The Sunlit Zone: This is the top layer, nearest the surface of the water. Here there is enough light penetrating the water to support photosynthesis so that plants can grow.

Since plants can easily grow in this zone many animals make their homes here. More than 90% of all marine life lives in the sunlit zone.

The sunlit zone goes down about 600 feet. Most fish live here. Many other animlas like sharks, jellyfish, sea turtles, seals, sea lions, and stingrays also live in this zone. These animals are dark on top and lighter on their undersides to help them hide in the bright sunlit waters.This type of camouflage is called countershading.

Plankton also thrive in this zone. These microscopic animals form the basis of the food chain in the ocean.

Click on the boxes below to learn more about some of the animals of the Sunlit Zone.

sharks jellyfish
whales & dolphins

You've been working so hard and learning so much, it's time for a Shark Brake!



















Created by Milagros Henriquez-Santiago ©, All Rights Reserved.
This template was purchased at ThistleGirl Designs
This template was purchased at ThistleGirl Designs